Tags

, , , , , , ,

The rage for mid-century modern might be drawing to an end. The theory behind this trend is that it was affordable for twenty and thirty-something hipsters with a ton of style and not too much cash. Inspired by shows like Mad Men, they turned en masse to flea markets and Craigslist where Eames Lounge Chair replicas were a dime a dozen. Of course supply and demand always takes it’s toll and prices increased.

I skipped this trend because I grew up in a mid-century house. I was surrounded by teak, polyester drapery and an orange lamp that my sisters and I tried to rid ourselves of numerous times. Our mother always hauled it right back into the house. She just loved that lamp!

I’ve been watching the granny chic trend since I posted about it in December. It might be on it’s way due to the fact that IKEA recently launched their new Emmie line of bedding and fabrics in large florals and toiles. Toile at IKEA? And pendant lamps too!
The company’s press materials trumpet “new textiles with old charm” and reference “an English garden at the end of the 19th century.” Very interesting indeed!

Images via Dottie Angel and Style North.

